• Hey! Register here to create your account, engage with the community, and talk about what is new!

[ Discord Webhooks ] & [ Web Requests ]

KyllianGamer

Reaction score
Hello, I will be explaining how to use Discord Webhooks & Web Requests!
Before I get started I want to clear some things out:
- For more advanced applications we will be using real code (JavaScript).
- I am not a professional so if I make any mistakes please let me know so I can learn from them and correct the post.
- It is NOT possible to receive response data, while alot of people think it is possible, but more on that later!
- Overlord is required. I am currently not an Overlord, I will be using the plot of EpicFireyCreeper, so thanks to him!
- You can also use Web Requests to send more advanced messages to a Discord Webhook.

Discord Webhooks
What is a Webhook?

A Discord Webhooks is a Unique URL that you can use to link services together. They allow you to automate messages and send data to Discord Text Channels.
1604487372228.png
To use this feature we will need to setup a Webhook first. How?
1. Go to the server that you will create a webhook in.
2. Go to the server settings and click "Integrations".
3. Now press "Webhooks" and add a new webhook. You can name it whatever you want, make sure to set the channel to the channel where you want webhooks messages to be received.
4. Done! Make sure to copy the Webhook URL (gray button) since we will be needing this to send messages.

Want a video on how to setup Discord Webhooks?

Now let's send a simple message to the Webhook!
Place down a Game Action block in your codespace, navigate to "Web Manipulation" and select "Send Discord Webhook Message"! We will need to put 2 values in the chest:
1. The URL, this is the URL you had to copy from the Webhook you made earlier. (Use a text book and type the URL in chat while holding it)
2. The message, very simple, you just insert whatever message you want to send to the Webhook.

Quick Example: