• Hey! Register here to create your account, engage with the community, and talk about what is new!

why is DF coding just worse now

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheZipCreator

New member
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
1
Ok so this post is a bit of a rant but it's midnight rn and I just want to get some anger out.

So, I decided to go back to Diamondfire because I was bored and I haven't played for a while. That was a mistake. I decided to try to code a new plot because I had nothing else to do, and I get to the point where I need to make an inventory menu. I've done it before so it should be that hard, right? That's where you're wrong. Making the menu is the same, but when I go to adding actual things from clicking an item, that's where the trouble begins. Because apparently they removed "if item" for some -snip- reason. So now there's a billion different if players under "item" now. Great. So originally I had it as "if menu item", which seems like it'd be the item you clicked, but nope, it's if a specific item appears in the menu. So I go to "if cursor item", which seems like it'd be the one, but nope it's not that one either. That's whichever -snip- item is on the player's cursor, not the item they've clicked. And there's no other if players that look like they'd do anything near to what I want. From what I can gather, you have to use -snip- if variable and a game value that corresponds to the item clicked, and then test if that equals what item you want. That is extremely -snip- unintiutive. Why did they not just keep "if item"? What problem was it causing? Or maybe just add "If Clicked Menu Item equals"? Like seriously why? It doesn't even apply to just that. Apparently everything has to have it's own "if player" now. They splintered a bunch of things and now you need to spend 10x as much time looking for stuff. I like categories but I feel the df devs (or just Jere I guess? does anybody else even work on the Hypercube plugin?) were like "yeah we got categories but they're too empty so we're going to add 239048248394 new if conditions". Like I just don't get the logic here. I guess you could argue it's for "consistency" but even then "if item" was perfectly fine. Sure it did different things depending on context but it was generally consistent. It referred to the main item used in the player event.

</rant>
 

DFIdentity

Support
Helper
Joined
Sep 9, 2020
Messages
142
So, you're saying DiamondFire is worse now because it has more features. Makes sense. Regarding your rant about checking if the player clicked an item in a menu:
1. The descriptions of the actions you tried *clearly* say what they do. Just look at the lore. The first if player you tried also wasn't called "If Menu Item", it was called "If Open Inventory Menu Slot Item". Again, very descriptive.
2. There is an If Game Event Item that you can use to achieve this without variables. It's If Game now so it works for all player events, otherwise they'd have to add even more IF options (which is what you're against right now), as well as just consistency.
3. There's not 293729847389 new if conditions. The item category only has about 12. DiamondFire AND Minecraft are evolving, therefore they need to add more actions and features to keep up.
4. There are 6 devs in total: Jeremaster, homchom, S4nders, K_Sasha, RedDaedalus and Owen1212055.

I agree that DF could be more beginner-friendly, and I think there's a tutorial rework planned (iirc it's been accepted on DFS). If you need help while coding on DiamondFire, you can use /support request and someone will be able to come and help you. You can also ask for help on the discord.
 

Looser

Support
Helper
Joined
Sep 6, 2020
Messages
54
Hey guys i didn't join DF in 2 years and now it got lots of updates and i'm too lazy to spend a day or two learning them NOOOOO

well guess i gotta leave an unnecessary 'rant' forum post and join again in 2 years just to complain again.
 

K_Sasha

Server Developer
Developer
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
40
I am assuming that by "if item" you mean If Player: Item Equals. That condition was moved to If Game, and is now called Event Item Equals.
 

BigSpaceRex

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
29
Hey guys i didn't join DF in 2 years and now it got lots of updates and i'm too lazy to spend a day or two learning them NOOOOO

well guess i gotta leave an unnecessary 'rant' forum post and join again in 2 years just to complain again.
I mean to be fair they said they were just ranting to let anger out and didn't sound as annoyingly toxic as they could've and people have definitely done that before
 

<Antumbra>

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
409
imma -snip- the life support of loops

-5.2


now we're at 5.3 and litteraly nobody cares about loops anymore
 

DFIdentity

Support
Helper
Joined
Sep 9, 2020
Messages
142
why do all threads have to go offtopic like this. just stick to the original topic of the threadd
 

S4nders

Server Developer
Developer
Joined
Oct 7, 2020
Messages
9
The misconception was made here that Item Equals was removed, but it was simply moved to the If Game block, along with all former If Player actions that do not use information about the player, only about the event (such as Command Equals).
However, you couldn't have known this unless you had read all the patch notes since you left, so I understand your frustration.
If something like this happens again, you can always ask a support question and they would have explained this to you. In the future, we'll have tutorials for topics like this that you can go over to find this out yourself.
 

PhoenixFire18

New member
Joined
Oct 28, 2020
Messages
7
With diamondfires many updates since you last played, it’s obvious that code will change. I do agree that code changes can be difficult to understand, but don’t post a rant on the forums just to make false claims and insult admins. So stop being a -snip-!
 

Noah

Support
Helper
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
236
It's also annoying that since we have to wait longer for bigger updates, the code block changes break a ton of plots and it takes a while to fix
 

realRoforbYT

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
128
Ok so this post is a bit of a rant but it's midnight rn and I just want to get some anger out.

So, I decided to go back to Diamondfire because I was bored and I haven't played for a while. That was a mistake. I decided to try to code a new plot because I had nothing else to do, and I get to the point where I need to make an inventory menu. I've done it before so it should be that hard, right? That's where you're wrong. Making the menu is the same, but when I go to adding actual things from clicking an item, that's where the trouble begins. Because apparently they removed "if item" for some -snip- reason. So now there's a billion different if players under "item" now. Great. So originally I had it as "if menu item", which seems like it'd be the item you clicked, but nope, it's if a specific item appears in the menu. So I go to "if cursor item", which seems like it'd be the one, but nope it's not that one either. That's whichever -snip- item is on the player's cursor, not the item they've clicked. And there's no other if players that look like they'd do anything near to what I want. From what I can gather, you have to use -snip- if variable and a game value that corresponds to the item clicked, and then test if that equals what item you want. That is extremely -snip- unintiutive. Why did they not just keep "if item"? What problem was it causing? Or maybe just add "If Clicked Menu Item equals"? Like seriously why? It doesn't even apply to just that. Apparently everything has to have it's own "if player" now. They splintered a bunch of things and now you need to spend 10x as much time looking for stuff. I like categories but I feel the df devs (or just Jere I guess? does anybody else even work on the Hypercube plugin?) were like "yeah we got categories but they're too empty so we're going to add 239048248394 new if conditions". Like I just don't get the logic here. I guess you could argue it's for "consistency" but even then "if item" was perfectly fine. Sure it did different things depending on context but it was generally consistent. It referred to the main item used in the player event.

</rant>
Can't you just use the new methods? This is not a rant but instead a tantrum turned into text.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom